The Winners List of Berlin Film Festival 2016

Guests arrive for the screening of "The Grand Budapest Hotel" presented in the Berlinale Competition of the 64rd Berlinale Film Festival and opening ceremony in Berlin, on February 6, 2014. The 64rd Berlinale, the first major European film festival of the year, starts on February 6, 2014 with 24 international productions screening in the main showcase.     AFP PHOTO / POOL / TIM BRAKEMEIERTIM BRAKEMEIER/AFP/Getty Images

The acting awards went to a newcomer and an old pro. First-time actor Majd Mastoura won best actor for his turn in Hedi, a touching love story set in modern-day Tunisia, the debut feature of director Mohamed Ben Attia; while Danish veteran Trine Dyrholm took the Silver Bear best actress prize for her tour de force performance in Thomas Vinterberg’s The Commune, playing a successful career women in 1970s Denmark whose life slowly unravels after she and her husband found a commune with their friends.

Receiving her award from Streep, Dyrholm acted the fan girl, saying what an honor it was to share the same stage with the three-time Oscar winner.

Another Oscar-winner, Bosnian director Danis Tanovic, took home the grand jury prize for Death in Sarajevo, an ensemble piece a la Robert Altman set entirely in a Sarajevo hotel. The Alfred Bauer Prize, named after the festival’s founder, went to Filipino director Lav Diaz for A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery, a seven-hour marathon of a movie that required audiences to commit an entire day to screen.

See the list of winners below

Golden Bear for Best Film: Fire at Sea from Gianfranco Rosi
Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize: Death in Sarajevo from Danis Tanovic
Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize: A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery from Lav Diaz
Silver Bear for Best Director: Mia Hansen for Things to Come
Silver Bear for Best Actress: Trine Dyrholm for The Commune
Silver Bear for Best Actor: Majd Mastoura for Hedi
Silver Bear for Best Script: United States of Love from writer-director Tomasz Wasilewski
Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution: Crosscurrent from Mark Lee Ping-Bing
Best First Feature: Hedi from Mohamed Ben Attia
Golden Bear for Best Short Film: Balada De Um Batráquio from Leonor Teles
Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film): A Man Returned from Mahdi Fleifel
Audi Short Film Award: Anchorage Prohibited from Chiang Wei Liang